Awards and Honors

Honor roll

By Sheryl Cash

December 19, 2019

This fall, faculty and alumni affiliated with the International Institute for Nanotechnology (IIN) received numerous awards and accolades. Here are a few:

Teri Odom

Teri W. Odom, the Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor and chair of the Northwestern Department of Chemistry, was named the new editor-in-chief of the American Chemical Society (ACS) journal Nano Letters.

Professor Omar Farha, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry, was invited to present the Makhlouf Haddadin Lectures at the American University of Beirut (AUB) in Lebanon. He also received the Japan Society of Coordination Chemistry International Award for Creative Work and the Kuwait Prize of Applied Sciences.


Guillermo Ameer and Sir Fraser Stoddart

Guillermo Ameer, the Daniel Hale Williams Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the McCormick School of Engineering, and Sir Fraser Stoddart, Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry, were named 2019 fellows of the American Academy of Inventors.


John Rogers and Susan Quaggin

John Rogers, the Louis Simpson and Kimberly Querrey Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Neurological Surgery in the McCormick School of Engineering; and Susan Quaggin, director of the Feinberg Cardiovascular and Renal Research Institute and chief of Nephrology and Hypertension in the Department of Medicine, were elected to the National Academy of Medicine.


Horacio Espinosa

Horacio Espinosa, the James N. and Nancy J. Farley Professor in Manufacturing and Entrepreneurship in the McCormick School of Engineering, accepted the Prager Medal from the Society of Engineering Science, Inc.

Nineteen IIN-affiliated faculty (among 32 at Northwestern) were named Highly Cited Researchers by Clarivate: Navdeep Chandel, pulmonary medicine; Vinayak Dravid, materials science and engineering; Omar Farha, chemistry; Mark Hersam, materials science and engineering; Jiaxing Huang, materials science and engineering;  Yonggang Huang, materials science and engineering; Joseph Hupp, chemistry; Mercouri Kanatzidis, chemistry; Tobin Marks, chemistry; Chad Mirkin, chemistry; SonBinh Nguyen, chemistry; John Rogers, materials science and engineering; George Schatz, chemistry; Randall Snurr, chemical and biological engineering; Fraser Stoddart, chemistry; Samuel Stupp, materials science and engineering; Chris Wolverton, materials science and engineering; and Richard Van Duyne, chemistry.

Mirkin will also receive the Harry and Carol Mosher Award in January, for “outstanding” work and contributions to the field of chemistry, from the Silicon Valley American Chemical Society.

James Hedrick

Two Mirkin Research Group alumni have been named to prestigious lists for their exceptional scientific and business achievements—James Hedrick, CEO and cofounder of IIN startup Azul 3D, was named to Forbes 30 Under 30 2020 Manufacturing & Industry list; and David Giljohann, adjunct professor in the McCormick School of Engineering and CEO of IIN startup Exicure, was named to the prestigious 2019 Crain’s Chicago Business 40 Under 40 list.