Loading Events

2022 IIN Symposium

Celebrating 20 Years of Big Thinking at the Nanoscale

Since 2001, the IIN Symposium has been one of the world’s premier events for students, researchers, and others interested in the latest advances in nanotechnology.

The 2022 IIN Symposium will, for the first time, exclusively feature luminaries from Northwestern delivering TED-style talks on their research and its impact across areas of importance to everyone. The winners of the 2021 Kabiller Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomedicine, Kabiller Young Investigator Award, and Kabiller Rising Star Award will also present their work.

Check out the lineup below — and then save the date for an incredible event!

Speakers & Topics

Hosted by
Chad Mirkin
George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry; Director, IIN

Introduction by
Milan Mrksich
Henry Wade Rogers Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Vice President, Research

Nanotechnology’s Importance to the World and Northwestern

Vinayak Dravid
Abraham Harris Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

Teri Odom
Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry; Chair, Department of Chemistry

Emily Weiss
Mark and Nancy Ratner Professor of Chemistry

Regenerative Medicine

Samuel Stupp
Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Chemistry, Medicine and Biomedical Engineering

Guillermo Ameer
Daniel Hale Williams Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Nanotechnology and Cancer

Priya Kumthekar
Associate Professor of Neurology and Medicine

Alexander Stegh
Associate Professor of Neurology and Medicine

Nanotechnology for Human Performance

John Rogers
Louis Simpson and Kimberly Querrey Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Neurological Surgery

Steven Xu
Assistant Professor of Dermatology

Nanotechnology Mimicking Living Systems

Monica Olvera de la Cruz
Lawyer Taylor Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

George Schatz
Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and of Chemical and Biological Engineering

Nanotechnology for Air and Water Security

William Dichtel
Robert L. Letsinger Professor of Chemistry

Omar Farha
Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry

Artificial Intelligence in Nanotechnology

Randall Snurr
John G. Searle Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering; Chair, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Chris Wolverton
Jerome B. Cohen Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

Kabiller Award Presentations

Kabiller Rising Star Award
Natalie Artzi, Harvard Medical School & Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Kabiller Young Investigator Award
Bin Liu, National University of Singapore

Kabiller Prize in Nanoscience & Nanomedicine
David Walt, Harvard Medical School


Support from our sponsors makes it possible to offer this event to all attendees at no charge.

Benefits include recognition on-site at the symposium and during the online broadcast, as well as exhibit opportunities and messaging to all symposium attendees.

To learn more, review the sponsorship prospectus and contact the IIN.

Silver Sponsors

Marshall Gerstein & Borun logo

Bronze Sponsors

Exicure logo

Gatan logo

Glen Research logo

Illinois Science and Technology Park logo

JEOL logo


WITec Raman Imaging

Stoicheia logo

2022 IIN Symposium

Date & Time:
Thu, October 27, 2022
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Event Category:


Evanston, IL
Superstructure for neuron growth. Photo by Alexandra Edelbrock and Tristan Clemons (Samuel I. Stupp Laboratory / Simpson Querrey Institute for BioNanotechnology)