Awards and Honors

IIN announces 2018 Ryan Fellows

By Sheryl Cash

August 03, 2018

EVANSTON, Ill.–The International Institute for Nanotechnology (IIN) has announced the 2018 Ryan Fellowship Awardees. The Ryan Fellowship, created in 2007 and made possible by a generous donation from Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan, supports exceptional graduate students dedicated to the exploration of fundamental nanoscale science geared toward practical applications that benefit society.

In addition to rigorous research with IIN-affiliated partners, the Ryan Fellows participate in a variety of collaborative activities including quarterly research presentations, retreats, seminars and symposia. To date, there have been 156 Ryan Fellows, many of whom are now in leadership positions at prestigious universities, corporations, and national laboratories.

The new 2018 Ryan Fellows are as follows:

  • Simone Bianconi, electrical engineering
  • Heather Calcaterra, chemical and biological engineering
  • Riki Drout, chemistry
  • Kendall Ezell, Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
  • Oliver Hayes, chemistry
  • Jasmine Hershewe, chemical engineering
  • Brendan Kerwin, chemistry
  • Young Ah Lee, materials science & engineering (MSE)
  • Akshay Murthy, MSE
  • Andrew Rosen, chemical engineering
  • Daniel Selgrade, MTSP
  • Aaron Stone, chemistry
  • Wenjie Zhou, chemistry

Read more about the Ryan Fellows program.

The International Institute for Nanotechnology at Northwestern University is an umbrella organization that represents and unites more than $1 billion in nanotechnology research, education and supporting infrastructure.