Awards and Honors

IIN-affiliated faculty members Mercouri Kanatzidis and Robert P.H.Chang receive Department of Energy Ten at Ten Award

By Sheryl Cash

July 30, 2019

EVANSTON, Ill.—International Institute for Nanotechnology (IIN)-affiliated faculty members Mercouri Kanatzidis, professor of chemistry, and Robert P.H. Chang, professor of materials science and engineering and director of the Materials Science Institute at Northwestern, are recipients of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Basic Energy Science Ten at Ten Award. The pair received a “Scientific Ideas Award” for their first demonstration of all-solid-state solar cells using halide perovskite materials. 

Read more about this honor.

The International Institute for Nanotechnology at Northwestern University is an umbrella organization that represents and unites more than $1 billion in nanotechnology research, education and supporting infrastructure.