Awards and Honors

IIN-affiliated faculty elected to National Academy of Sciences

By Amanda Morris

April 29, 2020

Huang, Stupp

Three members of the Northwestern University faculty have been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences, including two who are affiliated with the International Institute for Nanotechnology. Membership in the academy is one of the highest honors given to a scientist in the United States.

Yonggang Huang is the Walter P. Murphy Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Mechanical Engineering in the McCormick School of Engineering. Huang develops models for stretchable and flexible electronics. His work has led to major advancements in bio-integrated electronics for health monitoring.

Samuel Stupp is Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Chemistry, Medicine, and Biomedical Engineering in McCormick and the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences. A member of the IIN Steering Committee, Stupp also directs the Simpson Querrey Institute and its two affiliated research centers, the Center for Bio-Inspired Energy Science and the Center for Regenerative Nanomedicine.

Read more at Northwestern Now