Loading Events

2019 IIN Symposium

The 2019 IIN Symposium
Maps, Materials, and Methods for Navigating the Nanoscale World

Thursday, November 14, 2019
8:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Orrington, Grand Ballroom
1710 Orrington Ave.
Evanston, Illinois

Stefan Hell, 2014 Nobel Laureate, Max Planck Institute, Germany
Harry Anderson, Oxford University, England
Julia Greer, California Institute of Technology
David Mooney, Harvard University
The winner of the 2019 Kabiller Prize

Organized by IIN, this popular all-day conference brings together leading national and international researchers to share the latest in nanotechnology discoveries and trends. The Symposium also provides a unique opportunity to encourage interactions and collbaorations amongst the scientists in attendance.


“Maps, Materials, and Methods for Navigating the Nanoscale World”
November 14, 2019 – 8:30 am to 6:00 pm

Hilton Orrington Hotel, Grand Ballroom
1710 Orrington Avenue
Evanston, IL

Registration Open (coffee served)

9:00am – 9:10am
Chad Mirkin, IIN Director
Welcome and Introduction

Session I 
9:10am – 10:05 am
Stefan Hell
Director and Professor, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Gottingen, Germany
“MINFLUX Nanoscopy: Super-resolution post-Nobel”

10:05am – 11:00am
Julia Greer
Professor of Materials, Mechanics and Medical Engineering, California Institute of Technology
“Materials by Design: Three-dimensional Nano-architected Meta-materials”

11:00am – 11:20aM

11:20am – 12:15 pm
Harry Anderson
Professor of Chemistry, University of Oxford UK
Professional Fellow of Keble College, Oxford UK
“Flow of Energy & Electrons in Molecular Nanorings”

12:15pm – 1:30pm
Lunch Break (private lunch for speakers and guests, Heritage Ballroom 2nd floor)

Session II
:30pm – 2:25pm
David Mooney
Robert P. Pinkas Family Professor of Bioengineering
Harvard University
“Biomaterials to Reconstitute T Cell Immunity”

2:25pm – 3:20pm
Molly Stevens, 2019 Kabiller Young Investigator Awardee
Professor of Biomedical Materials and Regenerative Medicine
Research Director for Biomedical Material Sciences
Imperial College London
“Designing Materials for Ultrasensitive Biosensing and Cell-interfacing”

3:20pm – 4:15pm
Chad Mirkin, 2019 Kabiller Prize Winner
George B. Rathman Professor of Chemistry
Director of International Institute for Nanotechnology
Professor of Materials Science & Engineering
Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering
Professor of Medicine
Northwestern University
“Opening the Field of Digital Medicine through Spherical Nucleic Acids”

4:15pm – 6:00pm
Reception (Please join us in the atrium outside of the Grand Ballroom) 

2019 IIN Symposium

  • This event has passed.
Date & Time:
Thu, November 14, 2019
8:30 am
Event Category: