The International Institute for Nanotechnology (IIN) is a collaborative venture between Northwestern University and the Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Laboratory, which unites over $445 million in nanotechnology research, educational programs, and infrastructure under one umbrella.

Each year the IIN organizes and sponsors a symposium that brings together leading national and international rsearchers. The symposium provides a venue to enhance interactions and encourage collaborations.


The 2008 International Institute for Nanotechnology (IIN) Symposium will be held on Thursday, November 20, 2008 in the newly renovated Grand Ballroom of the Hotel Orrington, 1710 Orrington Avenue, Evanston, Illinois (this is an easy walk from the NU Evanston campus).

We are very pleased to announce that our plenary speaker this year is Alan Heeger , the 2000 Nobel Prize winner in chemistry and Professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Seven other distingushed invited speakers will showcase research in nanoelectronics, molecular nanotechnology, and nanooptics & nanomaterials.

Attendance at the 2008 IIN Symposium is free of charge due to the generous support from gwSaar; Husch, Blackwell, Sanders, Welsh & Katz; NanoInk, Inc.; and the NU Nanoscale Science & Engineering Center and NU Center of Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence.

Space is limited and reservations will be taken on a first-come, first-served basis, so please register early to assure your seat!

We look forward to seeing you there.


Teri W. Odom, Conference Chair

Chad A. Mirkin, IIN Director
2008 Symposium Sponsors

NU-Nanoscale Science & Engineering Center

NU-Center of Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence

The International Institute for Nanotechnology | 2145 Sheridan Road, Technological Institute, Suite K111, Evanston, IL 60208, USA
| Tel: (847) 491-5784, Email: nanotechnology@northwestern.edu | © International Institute for Nanotechnology